Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /home/srwild/ on line 14

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/srwild/ in /home/srwild/ on line 1625

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/srwild/ in /home/srwild/ on line 477
Vermont International Film Festival › Blog › And the award goes to...

Saturday, October 13, 2007 | 03:56 PM

And the award goes to...

Last night VtIFF and the Vermont Film Commission held an awards reception at the Main Street Landing Performing Arts Center to present the annual James Goldstone Award and a series of awards to some excellent student filmmakers.

First up was the James Goldstone Award, presented annually by the Vermont Film Commission to honor “an emerging Vermont filmmaker.” This year’s award went to — and this is somewhat awkward — me. My film, Digital Pamphleteer, about Essex Junction political blogger Steve Benen, took home the certificate and a $500 check to boot. I am deeply honored by the commission’s recognition and I plan on spending the money on a feature documentary that I’m trying to finish.

Also presented at the reception were the 2007 Vermont International Film Festival Student Showcase Awards. According to the festival’s official release…

The films were screened by a panel of student judges representing 4 of the 5 schools participating in the showcase. The students screened films from 11 am – 3 pm on Friday, 10/12/07. Subsequent to the screening, and fueled with pizza, the panel discussed each film. Orly Yadin, filmmaker and Managing Director of Footage Farm, a historical footage collection, worked closely with the judges to develop criteria for their decisions.

The awards were announced at a reception hosted by the Vermont Film Commission. The 5 winners will each receive an Avid Media Composer software package donated by Avid.

The following awards were presented:

Best Documentary and Overall Winner of Best Student Film
“What I Do Has to be Great”, Kelsey Eichorn, Middlebury College
For its beautiful cinematography and compelling insight into its subject matter

Best Narrative Film “Boy Wonder”, Craig Hildebrand, Burlington College
For it’s witty , intelligent screenplay and excellent acting

Best Experimental Film “Improvisation”, Michael Everett, UVM
For its flawless integration of music and images within an experimental form

Best Animation “Paws Off”, Ray Bergeron, Champlain
For its sophisticated use of 3D animation, especially involving the water effects

Overall Runner-up “Morning After”, Gef Bove, UVM
For its excellent camerawork and inventive use of sound effects

Honorable Mention
“In Translation”, Astri Von Arbin Ahlander, Middlebury
“Montage”, Elezabeth Rossano, UVM

Congratulations to all of the winners!